Editor assistants

GitHub Copilot

ResetsMonthly
When you run outHard stop · usage-billed
Verified6 of 6 plans

Last verified · github.com/features/copilot/plans

Does GitHub Copilot have usage limits?

Yes. GitHub Copilot plans have usage limits; 6 of 6 plans publish a concrete allowance. Limits reset monthly. When you hit a limit, you have to upgrade or extra usage is billed. Verified against github.com on Oct 16, 2026. Each plan's included usage, reset and overage rule is listed below with its source link.

Last verified · github.com/features/copilot/plans

GitHub Copilot pricing: how much does it cost?

GitHub Copilot has 6 plans in our data, including a Free plan at $0. Paid plans start at $10/month (Pro) and go up to $100/month (Max). Prices were checked against github.com on Oct 16, 2026. Prices are in US dollars as listed on the source page. See each plan below for what is included and how overages are charged.

Last verified · github.com/features/copilot/plans

Plans

Tap a plan for what's included and the source.

Free$0 Verified
Price
$0
Included
2000 completions and 50 chat requests
Resets
Monthly
Run out
Upgrade
Source
github.com/features/copilot/plans · 2026-10-16
Pro$10/mo Verified
Price
$10/mo
Included
1,500 AI credits/mo (1,000 base + 500 flex) = $15 value; unlimited completions; 1 credit = $0.01
Resets
Monthly
Run out
Paid usage at $0.01/credit with a dollar budget
Source
github.com/features/copilot/plans
docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans · 2026-10-16
Pro+$39/mo Verified
Price
$39/mo
Included
7,000 AI credits/mo (3,900 base + 3,100 flex); unlimited completions; 1 credit = $0.01
Resets
Monthly
Run out
Paid usage at $0.01/credit
Source
github.com/features/copilot/plans
docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans · 2026-10-16
Max$100/mo Verified
Price
$100/mo
Included
20,000 AI credits/mo (10,000 base + 10,000 flex); unlimited completions; 1 credit = $0.01
Resets
Monthly
Run out
Paid usage at $0.01/credit
Source
github.com/features/copilot/plans
docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans · 2026-10-16
Business$19/granted seat/mo Verified
Price
$19/granted seat/mo
Included
1,900 AI credits per user/mo, pooled enterprise-wide
Resets
Monthly
Run out
$0.01 per AI credit beyond pool, if admin allows paid usage
Note
Billing unit is 'GitHub AI Credits'; 'premium requests' is now labeled legacy in GitHub docs.
Source
docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans · 2026-10-16
Enterprise$39/granted seat/mo Verified
Price
$39/granted seat/mo
Included
3,900 AI credits per user/mo, pooled
Resets
Monthly
Run out
$0.01 per AI credit beyond pool, if admin allows
Source
docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans · 2026-10-16

Use cases 6

See all 6 →

Blazon: deterministic coat-of-arms generator with Gemma-written mottos, built in one day

Builder
Earl Grey
Posted
Plan
"very few GitHub Copilot credits"; Render free tier
Cost
Not disclosed

dev.to · web source · link re-checked 2026-10-16

Smart home controller

Builder
@burkeholland
Posted
Plan
—
Cost
Not disclosed

x.com · link re-checked 2026-10-16

GitHub CopilotVendor post

Microsoft used agents to port the GitHub Copilot runtime from TypeScript to Rust (430K lines of TS became 800K of Rust)

Builder
Joab Jackson
Posted
Plan
—
Cost
Stated: about $120,000 in AI token usage plus about three weeks of a developer's time

theregister.com · web source · link re-checked 2026-10-16

Approximate build cost

Estimate from user reportsAll tools →
PaidIndividual reportsn = 2 · Aug 28, 2026 – Sep 21, 2026
2 source reports · 1 not counted
  1. $100per month · ongoing

    Ongoing dev usage before the June 1, 2026 pricing change

    “$100/mo (projected $800/mo)”

    @imkindingyou · x.com ↗

    Medium: first-hand X post

  2. $10per month · ongoing

    PR reviews via opencode

    “$10 plan” · Copilot $10

    @MrPunyapal · x.com ↗

    Medium: first-hand X post

  3. $10~2 hours · whole

    Social-media scheduling web app (.NET, ~2 hours)

    “total cost was less than the $10/month in credits” · Copilot ($10/mo credits) · Claude

    qingcharles · news.ycombinator.com ↗

    Medium: upper bound · Upper bound, not counted

Basis: spend stated in public posts. A range needs n ≥ 3. Not a quote, not an estimate of your build.

All tools' build cost →

What can you build with this plan?

A plain-English reading of the allowance each vendor publishes. We only do arithmetic on their numbers, and never guess what a credit buys.

Estimate based on vendor-published numbers

Free$0

Vendor publishes2000 completions and 50 chat requests

  • The vendor states 2000 completions without a reset window on this plan; check the source for how often it renews.

github.com/features/copilot/plans · 2026-10-16

Pro$10/mo

Vendor publishes1,500 AI credits/mo (1,000 base + 500 flex) = $15 value; unlimited completions; 1 credit = $0.01

  • 1,500 AI credits a month works out to roughly 50 AI credits a day, or 345 a week, if spread evenly.
  • At the stated $0.01 per credit, 1,500 credits equal about $15 of usage.

github.com/features/copilot/plans · 2026-10-16

Pro+$39/mo

Vendor publishes7,000 AI credits/mo (3,900 base + 3,100 flex); unlimited completions; 1 credit = $0.01

  • 7,000 AI credits a month works out to roughly 233 AI credits a day, or 1,611 a week, if spread evenly.
  • At the stated $0.01 per credit, 7,000 credits equal about $70 of usage.

github.com/features/copilot/plans · 2026-10-16

Max$100/mo

Vendor publishes20,000 AI credits/mo (10,000 base + 10,000 flex); unlimited completions; 1 credit = $0.01

  • 20K AI credits a month works out to roughly 667 AI credits a day, or 4,603 a week, if spread evenly.
  • At the stated $0.01 per credit, 20,000 credits equal about $200 of usage.

github.com/features/copilot/plans · 2026-10-16

Business$19/granted seat/mo

Vendor publishes1,900 AI credits per user/mo, pooled enterprise-wide

  • 1,900 AI credits a month works out to roughly 63.3 AI credits a day, or 437 a week, if spread evenly.

docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans · 2026-10-16

Enterprise$39/granted seat/mo

Vendor publishes3,900 AI credits per user/mo, pooled

  • 3,900 AI credits a month works out to roughly 130 AI credits a day, or 898 a week, if spread evenly.

docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans · 2026-10-16

Full table6
GitHub Copilot plans
CompareToolPlanPriceIncludedResetsAt the limitStatusCheckedExpand

Missing a tool or plan? Tell us on X 👀

Questions3

How much does GitHub Copilot cost?

GitHub Copilot lists 6 plans in our data: Free ($0), Pro ($10/mo), Pro+ ($39/mo), Max ($100/mo), Business ($19/granted seat/mo), Enterprise ($39/granted seat/mo).

When do GitHub Copilot limits reset?

Free: Monthly. Pro: Monthly. Pro+: Monthly. Max: Monthly. Business: Monthly. Enterprise: Monthly.

What happens when you run out of GitHub Copilot usage?

Free: Upgrade. Pro: Paid usage at $0.01/credit with a dollar budget. Pro+: Paid usage at $0.01/credit. Max: Paid usage at $0.01/credit. Business: $0.01 per AI credit beyond pool, if admin allows paid usage. Enterprise: $0.01 per AI credit beyond pool, if admin allows.

Last verified · github.com/features/copilot/plans · docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans

Change history8
Free2000 completions + 50 chat requestsgithub.com/features/copilot/plans ↗
Pro price$10/mo, 1,500 AI creditsdocs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans ↗
Pro+ price$39/mo, 7,000 AI creditsdocs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans ↗
Max price$100/mo, 20,000 AI creditsdocs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans ↗
Business price$19/seat/mo, 1,900 AI creditsdocs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans ↗
Enterprise price$39/seat/mo, 3,900 AI creditsdocs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans ↗
Overage$0.01 per AI creditdocs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans ↗
TerminologyGitHub AI Credits; premium requests = legacydocs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans ↗

Open in changelog →

Related7

The weekly diff

What changed in AI coding plans: prices, limits, resets. Email signups open soon. Until then, updates go out on X.

Follow @QuietlyByG on X RSS feed

No email form yet, so we don't collect any email addresses.