AI IDEs

Zed

ResetsMonthly
When you run outUsage-billed
Verified3 of 3 plans

Last verified · zed.dev/pricing

Does Zed have usage limits?

Yes. Zed plans have usage limits; 1 of 3 plans publish a concrete allowance. Limits reset monthly. When you hit a limit, extra usage is billed. Verified against zed.dev on Oct 16, 2026. Each plan's included usage, reset and overage rule is listed below with its source link. Prices and limits can change, so check the changelog for recent updates.

Last verified · zed.dev/pricing

Zed pricing: how much does it cost?

Zed has 3 plans in our data, including a free Personal plan. Paid plans start at $10/month (Pro) and go up to $30/month (Business). Prices were checked against zed.dev on Oct 16, 2026. Prices are in US dollars as listed on the source page. See each plan below for what is included and how overages are charged.

Last verified · zed.dev/pricing

Plans

Tap a plan for what's included and the source.

Personal$0 Verified
Price
$0
Included
Editor; unlimited use with own API keys or external agents
Resets
n/a
Run out
n/a
Source
zed.dev/pricing · 2026-10-16
Pro$10/mo Verified
Price
$10/mo (14-day free trial)
Included
Unlimited edit predictions; $5 of hosted tokens included
Resets
Monthly
Run out
API list price +10%; billed month-end or every $10; spending cap available
Source
zed.dev/pricing · 2026-10-16
Business$30/seat/mo Verified
Price
$30/seat/mo
Included
Org AI policies, data governance, RBAC, unlimited edit predictions; no bundled LLM credits
Resets
n/a
Run out
Hosted AI at standard usage rates or BYOK
Source
zed.dev/pricing · 2026-10-16

Use cases 7

See all 7 →

Switched from Nvim after two weeks

Builder
@RicardGardella
Posted
Plan
—
Cost
Not disclosed

x.com · link re-checked 2026-10-16

ZedTag unverified

Ran the Docker Agent from the Zed editor over ACP inside a Docker sbx microVM sandbox, with a local model

Builder
k33g
Posted
Plan
local model via llmman
Cost
Not disclosed

k33g.org · web source · link re-checked 2026-10-16

Zedpromo-ish

Plan/cost: ChatGPT subscription usable as Zed's LLM provider

Builder
@Olaemmy1200
Posted
Plan
—
Cost
Not disclosed

x.com · link re-checked 2026-10-16

Approximate build cost

Estimate from user reportsAll tools →

No counted reports yet

Basis: spend stated in public posts. A range needs n ≥ 3. Not a quote, not an estimate of your build.

All tools' build cost →

What can you build with this plan?

A plain-English reading of the allowance each vendor publishes. We only do arithmetic on their numbers, and never guess what a credit buys.

Estimate based on vendor-published numbers

Personal$0

Not published by vendor

zed.dev/pricing · 2026-10-16

Pro$10/mo

Vendor publishesUnlimited edit predictions; $5 of hosted tokens included

Published, but not in a unit we can translate.

zed.dev/pricing · 2026-10-16

Business$30/seat/mo

Not published by vendor

zed.dev/pricing · 2026-10-16

Compare Zed

Full table3
Zed plans
CompareToolPlanPriceIncludedResetsAt the limitStatusCheckedExpand

Missing a tool or plan? Tell us on X 👀

Questions3

How much does Zed cost?

Zed lists 3 plans in our data: Personal ($0), Pro ($10/mo (14-day free trial)), Business ($30/seat/mo).

When do Zed limits reset?

Personal: n/a. Pro: Monthly. Business: n/a.

What happens when you run out of Zed usage?

Personal: n/a. Pro: API list price +10%; billed month-end or every $10; spending cap available. Business: Hosted AI at standard usage rates or BYOK.

Last verified · zed.dev/pricing

Change history7
releaseZed v1.25 shrinks the binary by about 33% on macOS, 28% on Windows and 7% on Linuxzed.dev/releases/stable ↗x.com/zeddotdev/status/2113038416778514610 ↗
Personal price$0zed.dev/pricing ↗
Personal includedEditor; unlimited use with own API keys or external agentszed.dev/pricing ↗
Pro price$10/mo (14-day free trial)zed.dev/pricing ↗
Pro includedUnlimited edit predictions; $5 of hosted tokens includedzed.dev/pricing ↗
Business price$30/seat/mozed.dev/pricing ↗
Business includedOrg AI policies, data governance, RBAC, unlimited edit predictions; no bundled LLM creditszed.dev/pricing ↗

Open in changelog →

Related1
Fixes

None yet.

Shipped with Zed

None yet.

The weekly diff

What changed in AI coding plans: prices, limits, resets. Email signups open soon. Until then, updates go out on X.

Follow @QuietlyByG on X RSS feed

No email form yet, so we don't collect any email addresses.