Coding agents

OpenAI Codex

ResetsNot confirmed
When you run outNot confirmed
Verified0 of 1 plans

Last verified · developers.openai.com/codex/pricing

Applies to every plan

Not a subscription; API token prices not captured here. Help center: API-key Codex use not affected by ChatGPT-sign-in model retirements.

Partial Every plan here has at least one field the source does not confirm.

Does OpenAI Codex have usage limits?

Yes. OpenAI Codex plans have usage limits, but the source does not publish exact allowances for its 1 plan. The reset window is not confirmed on the source page. When you hit a limit, extra usage is billed. Verified against developers.openai.com on Oct 16, 2026. Each plan's included usage, reset and overage rule is listed below with its source link.

Last verified · developers.openai.com/codex/pricing

OpenAI Codex pricing: how much does it cost?

OpenAI Codex has 1 plan in our data. Paid prices are not confirmed on the source page. Prices were checked against developers.openai.com on Oct 16, 2026. Prices are in US dollars as listed on the source page. See each plan below for what is included and how overages are charged.

Last verified · developers.openai.com/codex/pricing

Plans

Tap a plan for what's included and the source.

API keyPay per use at OpenAI API pricing Partial
Price
Pay per use at OpenAI API pricing
Included
Codex CLI, SDK, IDE extension; no cloud features (GitHub review, Slack); models follow API key access
Resets
n/a (usage-based)
Run out
API rates
Note
Not a subscription; API token prices not captured here. Help center: API-key Codex use not affected by ChatGPT-sign-in model retirements.
Source
developers.openai.com/codex/pricing
help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan · 2026-10-16

Use cases 13

See all 13 →

SLOP CITY: open-source first-person game that embeds the author's TikTok posts

Builder
logn
Posted
Plan
Astra
Cost
Not disclosed

news.ycombinator.com · web source · link re-checked 2026-10-16

Asana/StackAI CTO Frank Hidalgo had GPT-6 Astra in Codex refactor and run a 144-run study on the browser agent. Result: runs 76x cheaper and 5x faster. About 1 week instead of 1–2 months

Builder
OpenAI
Posted
Plan
GPT-6 Astra in Codex. GPT-6.1 Sol for the agent
Cost
Stated: $0.47 average estimated model cost per run (was ≥$36.21 on the original setup on "Model B")

openai.com · web source · link re-checked 2026-10-16 (site blocks bots; opened in a browser for the brief)

OpenAI CodexGPT family

A Snew landing page update: "For the first time in my life, I built something directly using Codex only."

Builder
@joaopaulots
Posted
Plan
—
Cost
Not disclosed

x.com · link re-checked 2026-10-16

Approximate build cost

Estimate from user reportsAll tools →
Paid$112–$200median $200 · n = 3 · Aug 8, 2026 – Sep 21, 2026
3 source reports · 2 not counted
  1. $200per month · ongoing

    Moved over from Copilot

    “$200/mo” · ChatGPT Pro 20x

    @imkindingyou · x.com ↗

    Medium: first-hand X post

  2. $200per month · ongoing

    Main coding setup

    “$200” · Codex $200

    @shydev69 · x.com ↗

    Medium: first-hand X post

  3. $23.02not stated · whole

    A shipped project (not described)

    “Total API bill: $3.02 (661M tokens) + ChatGPT Plus $20/mo” · Codex app + DeepSeek Flash API; ChatGPT Plus ($20/mo) · DeepSeek Flash

    @iayushchoudhary · x.com ↗

    Medium: first-hand; amount = sum of the two stated figures

  4. $1424 hours · whole

    Swift iOS app with Live Activities and timers in 24h

    “~$14 in API costs” · API (Codex CLI)

    unknown (Reddit author not shown in index) · reddit.com ↗ (approx.)

    Low: number seen only in search summaries · Not counted: number not seen in post text

  5. $1601 night · partialSelf-promo

    One overnight Codex task

    “$160 gone from one overnight task” · API key (after Plus limits)

    unknown (Reddit author not shown in index) · reddit.com ↗ (approx.)

    Medium: number in the title; task not described; post promotes a tool the author built

Basis: spend stated in public posts. A range needs n ≥ 3. Not a quote, not an estimate of your build.

All tools' build cost →

What can you build with this plan?

A plain-English reading of the allowance each vendor publishes. We only do arithmetic on their numbers, and never guess what a credit buys.

Estimate based on vendor-published numbers

API keyPay per use at OpenAI API pricing

Not published by vendor

developers.openai.com/codex/pricing · 2026-10-16

Full table1
OpenAI Codex plans
CompareToolPlanPriceIncludedResetsAt the limitStatusCheckedExpand

Missing a tool or plan? Tell us on X 👀

Questions3

How much does OpenAI Codex cost?

OpenAI Codex lists 1 plan in our data: API key (Pay per use at OpenAI API pricing).

When do OpenAI Codex limits reset?

API key: n/a (usage-based).

What happens when you run out of OpenAI Codex usage?

API key: API rates.

Last verified · developers.openai.com/codex/pricing · help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan

Change history17
releaseCodex CLI 0.164.0: /presets, inline arguments for /model and /permissions, Kitty/Sixel image previews in the terminal, enterprise MCP auth, credential masking, and the Bedrock setup wizard on by defaultdevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗x.com/thsottiaux/status/2113770573994299544 ↗
API key pricePay per use at OpenAI API pricingdevelopers.openai.com/codex/pricing ↗
changeGPT-5.5 retired from Codex with ChatGPT sign-indevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeComposer predictions beta (Pro)developers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeGPT-6.1 Sol Ultrafast (Pro $500, eligible Enterprise/Edu)developers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeGPT-6.1 Sol in Codex and ChatGPT Workdevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeGPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna rolling out; Free/Go get Luna in desktop appdevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeGPT-5.3-Codex-Spark deprecateddevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changecodex mcp-server removeddevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changegpt-5.4 and gpt-5.4-mini retired from Codex (ChatGPT sign-in)developers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeGitLab support in Codex cloud (beta)developers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeChatGPT desktop app Linux preview; import from Claude Code/Cursordevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeCodex joins the ChatGPT desktop appdevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeCodex Remote GAdevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeRate-limit reset banking for Plus and Prodevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeSites preview in Codex appdevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗
changeCodex with Amazon Bedrockdevelopers.openai.com/codex/changelog ↗

Open in changelog →

Related4

The weekly diff

What changed in AI coding plans: prices, limits, resets. Email signups open soon. Until then, updates go out on X.

Follow @QuietlyByG on X RSS feed

No email form yet, so we don't collect any email addresses.