Chat assistants

ChatGPT

ResetsRolling 5h · Weekly
When you run outUsage-billed
Verified2 of 6 plans

Last verified · developers.openai.com/codex/pricing

Does ChatGPT have usage limits?

Yes. ChatGPT plans have usage limits, but the source does not publish exact allowances for its 6 plans. Limits reset rolling 5h, weekly. When you hit a limit, you can buy a top-up or extra usage is billed. Verified against developers.openai.com on Oct 16, 2026. Each plan's included usage, reset and overage rule is listed below with its source link.

Last verified · developers.openai.com/codex/pricing

ChatGPT pricing: how much does it cost?

ChatGPT has 6 plans in our data, including a Free plan at $0. Paid plans start at $8/month (Go) and go up to $100/month (Pro). Annual billing lowers the monthly price on some plans. Prices were checked against developers.openai.com on Oct 16, 2026. Prices are in US dollars as listed on the source page.

Last verified · developers.openai.com/codex/pricing

Plans

Tap a plan for what's included and the source.

Free$0/mo Partial
Price
$0/mo
Included
Unlimited text chats with GPT-6 (abuse guardrails); limited Codex (GPT-6 Luna, Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout); no image generation in Codex
Resets
Not confirmed
Run out
Not confirmed
Note
Codex and ChatGPT Work share usage. Codex 5-hour estimates are not fixed limits; weekly limits may also apply. Help center: Codex included on Free; Codex Cloud not included on Free or Go.
Source
developers.openai.com/codex/pricing
chatgpt.com/pricing
help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan · 2026-10-16
Go$8/mo Partial
Price
$8/mo
Included
More messages/uploads/images than Free; limited Codex (GPT-6 Luna, Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout); may include ads
Resets
Not confirmed
Run out
Not confirmed
Note
Codex and ChatGPT Work share usage. Codex 5-hour estimates are not fixed limits; weekly limits may also apply. Help center: monthly billing only (no annual); Think uses GPT-5.6 Luna; Go excludes GPT-5.6 Sol; Codex Cloud not included. Help article defers price to pricing page ($8 only on Codex pricing page).
Source
developers.openai.com/codex/pricing
chatgpt.com/pricing
help.openai.com/en/articles/11989085-what-is-chatgpt-go
help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan · 2026-10-16
Plus$20/mo Verified
Price
$20/mo
Included
Codex on web, CLI, IDE extension, iOS; cloud integrations (code review, Slack); GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna. Est. local Codex messages per 5h: GPT-6 Astra 5-45, GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160, GPT-6 Sol 15-150, GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000
Resets
5-hour window; weekly limits may also apply
Run out
Purchase ChatGPT credits (Codex credit rate card per 1M tokens, e.g. GPT-6.1 Sol 50 in / 2.5 cached / 250 out); or API key at API rates
Note
Codex and ChatGPT Work share usage. Codex 5-hour estimates are not fixed limits; weekly limits may also apply. Help center confirms $20/month billed monthly; no annual billing. Using a banked reset refreshes the 5-hour and weekly Codex windows. Model list updated 2026-10-17 (OpenAI Help Center).
Source
developers.openai.com/codex/pricing
chatgpt.com/pricing
help.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus
help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan
help.openai.com/en/articles/20001354-gpt-6-and-other-models-in-chatgpt · 2026-10-16
Pro$100, $200, or $500/mo Partial
Price
$100, $200, or $500/mo (3 tiers)
Included
Everything in Plus; expanded Codex; Pro reasoning (GPT-6 Astra); Dot agent; Ultrafast mode on Pro $500 only; no five-hour Codex limit currently
Resets
No five-hour limit currently; other limits per usage dashboard (unverified detail)
Run out
Purchase ChatGPT credits; or API key at API rates
Note
Codex and ChatGPT Work share usage. Codex 5-hour estimates are not fixed limits; weekly limits may also apply. Per-tier Pro usage amounts not published on these pages. Help center: Pro 100/200/500 monthly-only, no annual billing; Ultrafast only on Pro 500 (8x included allowance, 6x credit rate); new Pro 200 subscriptions get a lower allowance than before (grandfathered allowance through 2026-10-29). Per-tier allowance not published.
Source
developers.openai.com/codex/pricing
chatgpt.com/pricing
help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-what-is-chatgpt-pro
help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan · 2026-10-16
Business$20/user/mo billed annually; $25/user/mo monthly Verified
Price
$20/user/mo billed annually; $25/user/mo monthly (2+ users)
Included
ChatGPT + Codex across desktop/mobile; larger cloud VMs; SAML SSO, MFA; no training on business data by default. Standard Business Codex 5h estimates same as Plus
Resets
5-hour window; weekly limits may also apply
Run out
Workspace credits (flexible pricing)
Note
Codex and ChatGPT Work share usage. Codex 5-hour estimates are not fixed limits; weekly limits may also apply. Business page: Standard and Premium seats; Premium includes 5x more usage, no five-hour limit, and dots. Premium seat price not shown on fetched pages.
Source
developers.openai.com/codex/pricing
chatgpt.com/pricing
chatgpt.com/business
help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan · 2026-10-16
Enterprise / EduContact sales Partial
Price
Contact sales
Included
SCIM, EKM, RBAC, Compliance API, data residency; with flexible pricing no fixed rate limits (usage scales with credits); without flexible pricing per-seat limits same as Plus for most features
Resets
Flexible pricing: none fixed; otherwise as Plus
Run out
Credits / pay-as-you-go per agreement
Note
Codex and ChatGPT Work share usage. Codex 5-hour estimates are not fixed limits; weekly limits may also apply. Help center: token-based Enterprise agreements billed in USD instead of credits.
Source
developers.openai.com/codex/pricing
chatgpt.com/pricing
help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan · 2026-10-16

Use cases 7

See all 7 →

Puppy game on ModRetro "In 2 hours … with ChatGPT"

Builder
@PaulSolt
Posted
Plan
—
Cost
Not disclosed

x.com · link re-checked 2026-10-16

3D kart racing game — characters via Nano Banana and ChatGPT, 3D via Tripo3D

Builder
@KenLin1985
Posted
Plan
—
Cost
Not disclosed
WebsitesDesignRead the post

x.com · link re-checked 2026-10-16

"I designed and shipped an entire iOS app in 2 days with @ChatGPT ( and ofc I burned all my tokens )"

Builder
@premiumtantan
Posted
Plan
—
Cost
Not disclosed

x.com · link re-checked 2026-10-16

Approximate build cost

Estimate from user reportsAll tools →

No counted reports yet

Basis: spend stated in public posts. A range needs n ≥ 3. Not a quote, not an estimate of your build.

All tools' build cost →

What can you build with this plan?

A plain-English reading of the allowance each vendor publishes. We only do arithmetic on their numbers, and never guess what a credit buys.

Estimate based on vendor-published numbers

Free$0/mo

Not published by vendor

developers.openai.com/codex/pricing · 2026-10-16

Go$8/mo

Not published by vendor

developers.openai.com/codex/pricing · 2026-10-16

Plus$20/mo

Not published by vendor

developers.openai.com/codex/pricing · 2026-10-16

Pro$100, $200, or $500/mo

Not published by vendor

developers.openai.com/codex/pricing · 2026-10-16

Business$20/user/mo billed annually; $25/user/mo monthly

Not published by vendor

developers.openai.com/codex/pricing · 2026-10-16

Enterprise / EduContact sales

Not published by vendor

developers.openai.com/codex/pricing · 2026-10-16

Full table6
ChatGPT plans
CompareToolPlanPriceIncludedResetsAt the limitStatusCheckedExpand

Missing a tool or plan? Tell us on X 👀

Questions3

How much does ChatGPT cost?

ChatGPT lists 6 plans in our data: Free ($0/mo), Go ($8/mo), Plus ($20/mo), Pro ($100, $200, or $500/mo (3 tiers)), Business ($20/user/mo billed annually; $25/user/mo monthly (2+ users)), Enterprise / Edu (Contact sales).

When do ChatGPT limits reset?

Free: not confirmed. Go: not confirmed. Plus: 5-hour window; weekly limits may also apply. Pro: No five-hour limit currently; other limits per usage dashboard (unverified detail). Business: 5-hour window; weekly limits may also apply. Enterprise / Edu: Flexible pricing: none fixed; otherwise as Plus.

What happens when you run out of ChatGPT usage?

Free: not confirmed. Go: not confirmed. Plus: Purchase ChatGPT credits (Codex credit rate card per 1M tokens, e.g. GPT-6.1 Sol 50 in / 2.5 cached / 250 out); or API key at API rates. Pro: Purchase ChatGPT credits; or API key at API rates. Business: Workspace credits (flexible pricing). Enterprise / Edu: Credits / pay-as-you-go per agreement.

Last verified · developers.openai.com/codex/pricing · chatgpt.com/pricing · help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan · help.openai.com/en/articles/11989085-what-is-chatgpt-go · help.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus · help.openai.com/en/articles/20001354-gpt-6-and-other-models-in-chatgpt · help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-what-is-chatgpt-pro · chatgpt.com/business

Change history17
featureLocked chats in ChatGPT for Free, Go, Plus and Pro, rolling out graduallyhelp.openai.com/en/articles/6825453-chatgpt-release-notes ↗x.com/ChatGPT/status/2112597766333673624 ↗
featureChatGPT Slides get real-time collaboration for Pro, Business and Enterprisehelp.openai.com/en/articles/6825453-chatgpt-release-notes ↗x.com/ChatGPT/status/2112265233192657153 ↗
Sites limitfixed number of Sites → ChatGPT Sites no longer has a fixed limit on the number of Sites for Plus and Prodocs only, no official X post seen in the windowhelp.openai.com/en/articles/6825453-chatgpt-release-notes ↗
Plus price$20/modevelopers.openai.com/codex/pricing ↗
Plus includedCodex on web, CLI, IDE extension, iOS; cloud integrations (code review, Slack); GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna. Est. local Codex messages per 5h: GPT-6 Astra 5-45, GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160, GPT-6 Sol 15-150, GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000developers.openai.com/codex/pricing ↗
Pro price$100, $200, or $500/mo (3 tiers)developers.openai.com/codex/pricing ↗
Business price$20/user/mo billed annually; $25/user/mo monthly (2+ users)developers.openai.com/codex/pricing ↗
Business includedChatGPT + Codex across desktop/mobile; larger cloud VMs; SAML SSO, MFA; no training on business data by default. Standard Business Codex 5h estimates same as Plusdevelopers.openai.com/codex/pricing ↗
Enterprise / Edu priceContact salesdevelopers.openai.com/codex/pricing ↗
Plus price confirmed$20/mo billed monthly (help center)help.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus ↗
Pro Ultrafast usage rate8x Standard (included) / 6x Standard credit rate (Pro 500 only)help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-what-is-chatgpt-pro ↗
Pro Fast mode usage rate2.5x Standard (included allowance)help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-what-is-chatgpt-pro ↗
Business Premium seat usage5x Standard seat usage, no five-hour limitchatgpt.com/business ↗
Pro 200 allowanceNew non-grandfathered Pro 200 subscriptions get lower allowance; grandfathered through 2026-10-29help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-what-is-chatgpt-pro ↗
featureGPT-6 Pro in the chat tab: faster responses, better plugin and tool use, and multiple agents working on parts of a task in parallel; rolling out to eligible Pro usershelp.openai.com/en/articles/6825453-chatgpt-release-notes ↗x.com/OpenAI/status/2111185504746213705 ↗

Open in changelog →

Related4

The weekly diff

What changed in AI coding plans: prices, limits, resets. Email signups open soon. Until then, updates go out on X.

Follow @QuietlyByG on X RSS feed

No email form yet, so we don't collect any email addresses.